The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni: 1968-1998 (Hardcover)

The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni: 1968-1998 Cover Image
Hard to Find


The complete early work of the renowned African-American poet.

"Nikki Giovanni is one of our national treasures."--Gloria Naylor

This omnibus includes her first seven volumes of poetry from her early years, 1967 to 1983: Black Feeling Black Talk; Black Judgement; Re: Creation; My House; The Women and the Men; Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day; and Those Who Ride the Night Winds. A timeless classic, it is both a reflection of the changes in her own life and an evocation of a nation's past and its present.

Praise For…

“One of the finest poets of our time. . . Her work still resonates.”

“Fiery yet personal . . . an ample and diligent introduction, chronology and notes to individual works.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Wise and mischievous, Giovanni is a must-read at every stage if her happily, still growing oeuvre.”

“What a powerful first impression she made. This collection of early work is an excellent reminder.”
-Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060541330
ISBN-10: 0060541334
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publication Date: November 25th, 2003
Pages: 496
Language: English