Dancing In The White Sand (Paperback)

Dancing In The White Sand Cover Image
$14.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


It's 1859, and Lani, a 13-year-old Yoruba girl, is torn from the safety of her village in West Africa by marauding men. - this debut novel puts a teenager girl's prospective on the antebellum South with an unusual choice for her existence or freedom. Lani and her mother, Toluwani, are brought to a Caribbean island where she quickly makes friends with Molayo and other girls who join together for protection and inspiration. Even though she is far from home, Lani is determined to perform an empowering dance from her native land. Ultimately, she's sold, settling in the piney woods of East Texas. Her journey, however, reveals a pathway to freedom in Mexico if only she could swim. Unknown to her new owner, Lani is a great swimmer. On the plantation she must handle peer pressure, buru, bullying, and an unexpected surprise feeling of romance for Agibe, or Ben. When the opportunity for freedom is upon her, Lani learns of an impending fire. Should she let the plantation burn, stay and fight, or take this opportunity to run away? She must grow into a women filled with hope, African customs, Yoruba words, and will strengthen you in knowing your self worth even in isolation.

About the Author


Cynthia L. Matlock grew up on a farm in Texas, and has a BBA degree in business management. She enjoys researching untold and often forgotten stories on African Customs, and Yoruba Language that many Americans may have missed. She's a History Preservationist who encourages Survival skills in others. Fans of LYNN AUSTIN or ZORA Neal Hurston will enjoy her book. She's written several magazine articles, including "Hold that Face" in Autism Parenting. Overcoming Loneliness and Homesickness, she and her husband raise cattle, and she enjoys playing gospel music, and relaxing near a River, muddy pond, or Beach.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781098317140
ISBN-10: 1098317149
Publisher: BookBaby
Publication Date: September 28th, 2020
Pages: 192
Language: English